Cross Bones

Cross Bones

by Kathy Reichs

I’m Kim Alexander and this is Fiction Nation. The book is Cross Bones, by Kathy Reichs.

Okay, this is a new one for me. I can’t recall ever picking up a book because I liked the TV show before. But there you have it. I started watching Bones, based on the life and experiences of forensic anthropologist Kathy Reichs, and thought it was pretty good. Next thing you know, I get a copy of Cross Bones, the 8th novel based on the life and experiences of Kathy Reichs. Her fictional alter ego, Temperance Brennan, is enormously more quirky and odd on the TV show, and in the novel she isn’t surrounded by quirky and odd yet endearing co-workers. She has to settle for her hot FBI agent boyfriend. In the TV show, he’s hot, but not her boyfriend. To add to the real life/fictional life pile-on, the TV Tempe, as she’s called, is writing a series of books based on her life as a forensic anthropologist. I wonder if it’s confusing to be her? That makes me wonder about basing fiction on your real life, and not in any sort of veiled and hidden way. It’s quite obviously about her with another name. Would you be tempted to make yourself taller, thinner, smarter, with better clothes, or is that just me? Also, as I said, this is the 8th book about Tempe, and I came in in the middle of the series. Her flaws and strengths are already established, and maybe her FBI boyfriend has had a thing for a certain kind of lingerie all along, because he only mentions it like 20 times in this book. Tempe, just go to Victoria’s Secret and get yourself some tap pants already, would you?

Oh, the plot. Right. It starts with an apparent suicide in a warehouse in Montreal, and winds up in a burial  cave in the desert in Israel. The big mystery is the identity of the 2000 year old body wrapped in a shroud — care to take a guess? There’s tons of procedural stuff for fans of CSI, and I know more than I ever thought I’d need to about nuclear and mitochondrial DNA sampling.

Reichs sort of dances around answering the big questions she raises — what if they found the body of Jesus? What if he survived the crucifixion and went on to raise a family, or as they speculate here, fight at the standoff with the Roman soldiers at Masada? It would change the world, no matter what you believe. I got the impression that Reichs was more interested in the questions, and the lab work, than the actual answers.

Intriguigingly, she indicates that some of the archaeological finds she talks about in this book — 2000 year old shroud-wrapped bones — were found in point of fact in the desert, and various governments and factions have kept their existence a secret since they were unearthed at Masada in the early 1960s. This is where Google comes in handy but I’ll let you do your own research.

So I may or may not keep watching the TV show, but I think I may go back and read some of the earlier adventures of Temp Brennan  . She’s quirky. I liked her.

I’m Kim Alexander and the book is Cross Bones, by Kathy Reichs. Want to talk about books? Email me at Kim dot Alexander at xm radio dot com. This is Fiction Nation on Book Radio, SiriusXM Channel 80.


I’m Kim Alexander and this is Fiction Nation. The book is Cross Bones by Kathy Riechs. The author is a forensic anthropologist and this is her 8th book featuring her alter ego, Dr Tempereance Brennan, or Temp. Here, she investigates the apparent suicide of an Orthodox Jewish businessman in Montreal, and of course nothing is what it seems.  The victim had a shady import business, and some bones that should have stayed buried, it would have helped his health.  While that mystery plays itself out, a larger one is uncovered. Those 2000 year old bones were discovered wrapped in a shroud? It was in the desert in a burial cave in Israel? Nah, couldn’t be. Tantalizing to wonder if it was in fact the bones of Jesus and his family, and increasingly dangerous for Temp to try and get to the bottom of it. This book has lots of lab work and an extremely complex plot — I found that it also had more questions than answers, but I think fans of Kathy Reichs will not be disappointed.

I’m Kim Alexander and this is Fiction Nation on Book Radio, SiriusXM Channel 80.


Buy this book from Amazon.com


Buy this book from Audible.com